Home   >   CSC-OpenAccess Library   >    Manuscript Information
Development of Algorithms Under Matlab for the Study of Characteristics Motion Components Associated With Descending Moon Impact Probe (mip) and its Validation From Sequential Photo Images Aquired During the Descend From Chandrayan-1.
V K Srivastava, Tapas Kumar Nandy , Anurag Verma
Pages - 74 - 81     |    Revised - 01-11-2011     |    Published - 15-12-2011
Volume - 2   Issue - 3    |    Publication Date - November / December 2011  Table of Contents
Chnadrayan 1, Shackleton Crator , Moon Impact Probe, Motion components, MATLAB
The present paper is an attempt to know the motions characteristics associated with descending motion of MIP, a probe on board Chandrayan -1 designed to impact moon surface at pre decided location for scientific data collection from close range. For this , three independent motions viz.; spinning ,coning and translations were considered for a falling object and algorithms have been developed under MATLAB to simulate the surface trace from assumed parameters. Similar surface traces were generated using the time sequential images acquired by the descending MIP to moon surface without considering the three fundamentals motions as in first case. It has been observed that the two moon surface trace are quite similar which supports our assumptions of three above said independent motions. Such study is expected to provide a basis to choose suitable motion parameters for future MIP release to moon surface.
1 Google Scholar 
2 CiteSeerX 
3 Scribd 
4 SlideShare 
5 PdfSR 
Bussey DBJ, BD Spudis and MS Robinson (1999) Illumination condition at the Lunar South pole, Geophysics Research Letter ,26,1187-1190.
Goswami J.N., M. Annadurai, (2009), “Chandrayaan-1: India’s first planetary science mission to the moon” Current Science, vol. 96, no.4. page no.486-491
Kumar Ashok and MIP Project Team, 2009, “The Moon Impact Probe on Chandrayan -1” Current Science, Vol 96,No 4 Feb 2009 pp 540 – 543.
Professor V K Srivastava
Dept of Applied Geophysics - India
Mr. Tapas Kumar Nandy
- India
Mr. Anurag Verma
- India